The train of hope and life


image

train

In response to dVerse poetic Tuesday with Trains and Railway prompt.

This poem I wrote 10 years ago in Slovak language. After I met my husband (almost 4years ago), I shared few of my poems with him. That time my English wasn’t very good and he helped me to adjust some words and lines and added some of his thoughts to the poem. I would love to share this one today, though it’s not a new one.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Co-Authored with my husband Lucien Rowe

I´m standing in a silent shadow of meaningless days.
Waiting.
Though I don´t know if I´m waiting on a miracle,
or on life itself.
I´m looking at the railways of time
“Who knows what they will bring?”
They disappear in the distance like a smile on a face.
They stay mum.
Maybe I´m just raving,
but I heard a train´s whistle in the distance.
It would be a miracle.
This station has long been abandoned; the trains do not come here.
Maybe I´m wrong.
It would be fine.
I´m listening…and looking in the distance of time.
The rustling of the leaves resonates with the whistle.
Finally it comes to me…it comes.
“Will it stop for me? Is there a station for it here?”
I will wait, if it doesn’t the only thing that was lost is fear.
A symphony plays in my soul.
Drowning a thirsty silence,
harmonizing with the sound coming from the railroad.
“There is another whistle!”
I can see the shooting of lights.
It is so close now,
it is breaking, stopping at me.
Finally it is revealed.
While I stare in awe,
stretching out my fingers to feel
the reality that I now see.
I aboard the train and start my journey.
I leave the station of meaningless days,
I will travel for a long, long time
to make true my dreams and wishes.
I know the path, I now it will be hard and tremulous.
Time to time there will be sharp curves
and the speed is dangerous,
but I do not want the journey to end just yet.
That would be the last step of my life.
A step to the station of eternal rest.

Categories: Poems | Tags: , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “The train of hope and life

  1. A lovely use of metaphor to depict the stages of life. Engrossing.

  2. There is such longing and sadness in this, from the very first line:
    “I´m standing in a silent shadow of meaningless days.”

    Well done.

    • Thank you very much! ☺ Well, I wrote this poem while challenging some hard times.

  3. This is marvelous metaphor… and it would have been wonderful if you added the original text too (even if I don’t understand it)… a small detail i love is how rustle of leaves could refer both to trees and leaving… yes we are all travelling all the time.

    • Thank you very much, Björn! I will add the original soon ☺. Thanks for your advice.

  4. So beautiful…!

  5. I think its important to board that train and keep moving forward ~ The metaphor of life is well done ~

    Thanks for joining us ~

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Create Every Day

Art To Live

Musin' With Susan

Life Through My Lens

Words-to-World

Transplanting words from my daily pages to world

ronovanwrites

Writing to Discover My Self In the World

Insanity at its best!

Yousuf Bawany's Blog

Jamaica in a thousand words

Shooting Jamaica From All Angles

JoseRaSan66

Cuando Lo Pequeño Se Hace Visible...

artkorppi II

Kuvia/Images

Playing With My First DSLR Camera

Photography and photography related ramblings by Amy Sampson

Live .. Eat .. Create .!

the bohemian way

Mom asked me for a recipe!

Love in recipes from daughters to mothers

Drawing with Light

adventures in photography

Dancing with Mosquitoes

Rendezvous with the beauties of life

wildroverblog

Ireland - Ancient and Wild in equal measures

Wandering Iris

Road trips to out of the way places.

Foodeez Junction

Find Here the Indian recipes easy recipes curry recipes breakfast ideas indian main course menu and lots more. You should try these Indian food recipes at home Know more through the various categories like main course, recipes, snacks, beverages and drinks, desserts on foodeez junction.

the beespeak

Life lessons from the beeline

